Dynamical Biomarkers Group

About Us

A second-place prize of $1 million was granted to Taiwan-based finalist, Dynamical Biomarkers Group, led by Harvard Medical School Associate Professor Chung-Kang Peng, Ph.D. and supported by HTC Research for their prototype, which pairs diagnostic algorithms with analytical methodology in a user-friendly device, all controlled through a smartphone.

In Taiwan, universal healthcare is available to all, so we deeply understand the importance of controlling the cost and the wise use of medical resources. Providing quality healthcare in rural areas of Greater China poses an even greater challenge. The Dynamical Biomarkers Group (DBG) was founded by Dr. Chung-Kang Peng, then founding dean of the College of Health Sciences and Technology at National Central University in Taiwan, supported by Dr. Edward Chang of HTC Research, and comprises a multidisciplinary team of clinicians, scientists and engineers devoted to addressing these healthcare challenges. The Qualcomm Tricorder XPRIZE goal is in line with the mission of our Group, and provides an excellent opportunity to develop the necessary disruptive innovations in diagnosis, artificial intelligence, ID design and user experience. DBG is sponsored by HTC, a global leader in innovation and design.

Technical Innovation

Dynamical Biomarkers Group has developed a system of three modules: Smart Vital-Sense Monitor; Smart Blood-Urine Test Kit; Smart Scope Module. These modules incorporated innovative hardware, technologies for physiologic signal analysis, image processing, biomarker detection. They have each been designed to allow consumers to use them in a simple and intuitive way, as they are wirelessly connected to a smartphone, which runs a user-friendly app with an intelligent and interactive screening process that guides the users to carry out specific tests to generate disease diagnosis.

About Team Leader

Chung-Kang Peng, Ph.D., is the founding Dean of the College of Health Sciences and Technology, and K.-T. Li Chair Professor of the National Central University in Taiwan. He is also the Director of the Center for Dynamical Biomarkers at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center / Harvard Medical School.

Team Members

Chung-Kang Peng
Mentzung Lo
Yi-Lwun Ho
Jia-Rong Yeh
Chi-Sheng Hung
Chih-Ting Lin
Chien-Sheng Chen
Hsi-Pin Ma
Po-Lei Lee
Yen-Hung Lin
Kea-Tiong Tang
Terry B.J. Kuo
Norden E. Huang
Chen Lin
Yi-Chung Chang
Jen-Kuang Lee
Lian-Yu Lin
Nien-Tsu Huang
Shey-Shi Lu
Da-Jeng Yao
Chia-Min Yang
Yi-Wen Liu
Chung-Hung Shih
Ming-Chang Yang
Ching-Hsing Luo
Mei-Jywan Syu
Kuo-Chuan Ho
Shu-Chu Shiesh
Tse-Chuan Chou
Edward Chang
Fu-chiang Chou
Chih-Jen Hu
Frank.FC Fan
Pa-Chun Wang
Gloria Yeh
Andrew C. Ahn
Xingran Cui
Yan Ma
Yanhui Liu

Team Dynamical Biomarkers Group - Qualcomm Tricorder XPRIZE

Team Leader:
Chung-Kang Peng
Zhongli City, TAO, Taiwan

Become a Part of the Future! Sign Up for Our Newsletter: